Donuts Hype in Portland

On my most recent trip to Portland, I have made an effort to try the highly rated tourist traps spots that I didn’t last time I went. I don’t know what the rhyme or reason is behind the logic, but Portland got itself a fair share of doughnut/donut shops.

1. Most popular one is VooDoo Doughnuts. If you go anytime but off hours, you’re going to find yourself in a long line. Specialities are Bacon Maple, Peanut Butter Chocolate, and Captain Crunch flavors (~$12 all together). They have a lot of variety and design, but I think that’s all it has. I tried those three listed and did not like any of them. They were OVERLY sweet and not that good. The donut itself is soft and airy, but the frosting on top of all the donuts is what kills it. I’m going to pass on you. But for those that what to try it for yourself, they have a 2nd location which is less crowded and has a parking lot.

2. Going with all the hype, I tried Blue Star Donuts. Expensive, but A LOT BETTER than VooDoo’s. At $3 a donut, they coat your donut topping fresh when you order and they use organic ingredients. I enjoyed their donuts fully. Unique flavors as well, Bourbon Basil, Passion fruit, Almond Chocolate Ganache*, PB&J, Bacon Maple, Cointreau Creme Brûlée*, etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3. There’s also a Pip’s Original Donut shop that I did not get to try.

More Portland travels coming up… 🙂

Leave a Reply

